Slide background


Composed of nine Commissioners and the Mayor, the Macon-Bibb County Board of Commission is the legislative branch of the Macon-Bibb County Government. This body enacts the laws, ordinances, and resolutions for the local consolidated government. Commissioners are elected every four years.

The Macon-Bibb County Board of Commission meets at 6:00 p.m. every 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month at the Macon-Bibb County Government Center (formerly known as Macon City Hall) at 700 Poplar Street

Committee Meetings are held every 2nd and 4th Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. in the Large Conference Room at the Government Center.


All Committees will meet beginning at 9:00 a.m. on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month followed by the work session at 1:00 p.m.

The Pre-Commission Meeting will be held at 5:00 p.m. and Commission meeting will be held at 6:00 p.m. on the first and third Tuesdays.


Commissioner Gary Bechtel – Chairman

Commissioner Elaine Lucas – Vice Chairman


Finance, Revenue and Budget, IT, HR, Purchasing and Business Development Services

  • Commissioner Bechtel
  • Commissioner Lucas
  • Commissioner Watkins
  • Commissioner Shepherd
  • Commissioner Schlesinger


Commissioner Larry Schlesinger – Chairman Commissioner Elaine Lucas – Vice Chairman

ECD, Public Works and Recreation

  • Commissioner Lucas
  • Commissioner Tillman
  • Commissioner Schlesinger
  • Commissioner Watkins
  • Commissioner Allen


Commissioner Scotty Shepherd – Chairman

Commissioner Virgil Watkins – Vice Chairman

E-911, EMA, Fire, Animal Welfare, Municipal Court

  • Commissioner Shepherd
  • Commissioner Lucas
  • Commissioner Jones
  • Commissioner Watkins
  • Commissioner Allen


Commissioner Mallory Jones – Chairman

Commissioner Al Tillman – Vice Chairman

Airport, Facility Management and Construction, Vehicle Maintenance and Engineering

  • Commissioner Jones
  • Commissioner Schlesinger
  • Commissioner Tillman
  • Commissioner Bechtel
  • Commissioner Shepherd


Commissioner Bert Bivins – Chairman

To study and make recommendations regarding the use of designated Blight Funds

  • Commissioner Bivins
  • Commissioner Jones
  • Commissioner Watkins
  • Commissioner Allen


Commissioner Elaine Lucas – Chairman

To study and make recommendations regarding the Senior Citizens Center

  • Commissioner Lucas
  • Commissioner Schlesinger
  • Commissioner Watkins

The Macon-Bibb County Commission undertook a year-long Strategic Planning process in order to focus the work of and continue to build the new consolidated government.

In these sessions, the Commission selected new Mission and Vision Statements, identified five strategic priority areas, and selected strategic projects for the new government. This process helped develop the Fiscal Year 2015 budget, the first full-year budget for Macon-Bibb County by prioritizing what is most important to the Commission and community. With a Strategic Plan approved by the Commission, meetings will be held with departments to determine how to bring the projects to completion and to develop the Fiscal Year 2016 budget.

This year-long process is funded with a grant from the John S. James L. Knight Foundation and is being facilitated by the University of Georgia Carl Vinson Institute of Government.


Macon-Bibb will be the center of development, culture, and opportunity,
remembering our past while inspiring hope and pride for our future.


Macon-Bibb County provides the essential infrastructure, services, and programs,
creating a vibrant economic and cultural climate, enabling individuals, families, and businesses to prosper.

‘Forward Together’ Strategic Priorities

 Economic and Community Development
Our highest priority is to create a robust economy and strong communities. We will focus on retaining our current business and industry and creating opportunities for new economic development while addressing poverty and supporting and encouraging quality education and workforce development.

Safe Neighborhoods and Safe Communities
Safe neighborhoods are the foundation of great communities. We will focus our efforts on providing for public safety, citizen education and engagement and crime prevention, all in an effort to create safe and enduring communities.

Effective Government and Governance
Our City Commission and staff will work to improve public perception of the governance and government process and apply fair and equitable taxation principles and employee compensation and utilize best management practices to execute Commission policy towards completing SPLOST and all other projects successfully and in a timely manner. Our most valuable asset is our employees and we will commit to their training and development, recognizing their good works and retaining those assets.

Infrastructure Improvement
To achieve the community we desire we will focus on and develop stormwater, water and waste water infrastructures and an integrated transportation system of rails, trails, roads and runways to become the logistics hub of Georgia.

Quality of Life
We will support, encourage and promote good-living in Macon-Bibb with the arts and cultural events, tourism improvements, social and night life opportunities and a community-wide system of passive and active recreation.

Your Voice Counts

The Macon-Bibb County Commission would like to hear from you on issues you feel need to be discussed. Tell us what you like and dislike. Do you have a solution to a problem? Why not address your issue at the next commissioners meeting. You also can send your issue via email to

Gary Bechtel

Commissioner – District 1

Larry Schlesinger

Commissioner – District 2

Elaine Lucas

Commissioner – District 3

Mallory Jones, III

Commissioner – District 4

Bert Bivins, III

Commissioner – District 5

Joe Allen

Commissioner – District 6

Scotty Shepherd

Commissioner – District 7

Virgil Watkins, Jr.

Commissioner – District 8

Robert Reichert

Macon-Bibb County Mayor

Al Tillman

Mayor Pro Tem

Commissioner – District 9