Due to the Order Declaring Statewide Judicial Emergency by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Georgia, The Bibb County Probate Court will not issue new weapons carry license or renewals in the next 30 days. All renewals are tolled until the end of the Order Declaring Statewide Judicial Emergency. The Probate Court will issue marriage license by appointment for anyone getting married in the next 30 days. All requests for certified marriage licenses should be submitted by mail only.
This Statewide Judicial Emergency shall terminate on April 13, 2020, at 11:59 p.m., unless otherwise extended.
Sarah S. Harris, Judge
Elizabeth Whidby, Clerk
601 Mulberry Street
Macon, GA 31201
Court Division Room (478) 621-6494
License Division Room (478) 621-6493
Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday
8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Probate Court license hours: Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Note: Customers need to arrive prior to 4 p.m. to allow sufficient time to conclude all business with the Court. There will be no payments accepted after 4:30 p.m.
Obtaining a Marriage License in Macon-Bibb County
Any Georgia resident may apply for a license in any county in Georgia. However, if neither applicant is a resident of Georgia, you may only obtain your license in the county where the ceremony is performed. The license does not have an expiration date.
Both parties must be present in order to obtain a marriage license. Pre-marital blood test results are no longer required in the State of Georgia.
Identification: You must have proof of age by presenting one of the following:
- Valid driver’s license
- Original or certified copy of birth certificate
- Valid passport
- Valid military ID
|Without Certification of Premarital Counseling||With Certification of Premarital Counseling|
Premarital Education Program:
Under Georgia Law, couples who present to the court at the time of making application a certificate of completion of a qualifying premarital education program shall not be assessed a marriage license fee (other charges may apply). The premarital education shall include at least six hours of instruction involving marital issues, which may include but not be limited to conflict management, communication skills, financial responsibilities, child and parenting responsibilities, and extended family roles. The premarital education shall be completed within 12 months prior to the application for a marriage license and the couple shall undergo the premarital education together. The premarital education shall be performed by:
- A professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist who is licensed pursuant to Chapter 10A of Title 43;
- A psychiatrist who is licensed as a physician pursuant to Chapter 34 of Title 43;
- A psychologist who is licensed pursuant to Chapter 39 of Title 43; or
- An active member of the clergy when in the course of his or her service as clergy or his or her designee, including retired clergy, provided that a designee is trained and skilled in premarital education.
Acceptable forms of payment are cash, Money Order, Debit cards, and MasterCard and Visa. There will be a service fee assessed to any debit card or MasterCard/Visa transaction. This service fee goes directly to EZ CourtPay; Probate Court’s payment processing vendor.
All fees are non-refundable.
If either party has been divorced, please be prepared to present a copy of the final divorce decree.
After the license has been recorded and placed in the permanent files, you may obtain a certified copy.
Applicants under 18 Years of Age
As of July 1, 2019: You must be at least 17 years of age to obtain a marriage license in Georgia. If you are 17 years of age when applying for a marriage license, you must show that you have been emancipated for not less than 15 days, and present a certificate of completion of separate specialized premarital counseling for each applicant, even if one applicant is over 18.
Apply for Your Marriage License
Please visit https://www.georgiaprobaterecords.com/ to apply your marriage license online.
Obtaining Certified Copies of Your Marriage License or Marriage Certificate
To receive a certified copy of a marriage license issued in Macon-Bibb County:
You may come in person to the Probate Court, or mail a written request to:
Bibb County Probate Court
P.O. Box 6518
Macon, GA 31208
Your correspondence should include the names of both parties and the date of the ceremony.
The fee is $10 per copy payable by money order, cash, debit card, or MasterCard and Visa. If the certified copies are to be mailed to the couple, there will be a $1.00 mailing fee. All fees are non-refundable. Please note, there will be a service fee assessed to any debit card or MasterCard/Visa transaction. This service fee goes directly to EZ CourtPay; Probate Court’s payment processing vendor.
Wedding Ceremony Information
The Probate Court does not perform wedding ceremonies.
Wedding ceremonies are performed at the Magistrate Court. Parties wishing to be married by the Magistrate Court should contact Magistrate Court at (478) 621-6495.