MUNICIPAL COURT

SERVING THE NEEDS OF THE COMMUNITY

ONLINE PAYMENT

LaTonya Slaughter
Chief Clerk of Municipal Court

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

Telephone Number:
(478) 751-7154

Street Address:
601 Mulberry St., P.O. Box 247, Macon, Georgia 31201

Mailing Address:
Macon-Bibb Municipal Court
PO Box 247
601 Mulberry Street
Macon, Georgia 31202

PAYMENT OF FINES

There are some cases that, to protect you, we require you to appear in court. Typically these are cases where your license may be suspended or where the fine amount is based on the facts of the case. Fines listed as payable outside of court can be paid in person or by mail to:

Macon-Bibb Municipal Court
P.O. Box 247
601 Mulberry Street
Macon, GA 31202

You can pay fines, both those imposed in court and those printed on the schedule of fines, by cash, money order, certified check, and credit card (VISA, MasterCard, and Discover Card). If you pay by certified check or money order, make it payable to MACON-BIBB MUNICIPAL COURT. You can pay in person during the Court’s business hours. Do not send cash payment by mail.

Escalating overtime parking fine

The fine for overtime parking is $10.00. “The fee for any overtime parking ticket not paid within twenty (20) days from the date it is issued shall be increased to thirty dollars ($30).” [Macon City Code, Section 21-85(b)]

Pursuant to Georgia Code 17-6-11

if you have been issued a court summons and fail to appear to answer to the charge, a warrant may be issued for your arrest.  In addition, a notice is sent to the Department of Driver’s Services for any failure to appear on a traffic violation, and this will result in suspension of your driving privileges.

DESCRIPTION TOTAL MUST APPEAR
ALLOW MINOR TO DRIVE. $224.00 NO
ALLOW UNLICENSED TO DRIVE  $211.00 NO
ALLOWING ANOTHER TO DISPLAY LICENSE   YES
ALTERATION OF SUSPENSION SYSTEM  $70.00 NO
ALTERATION OF TAG  $63.00 NO
ALTERED LICENSE   YES
AMBER LIGHTS ( NO)  $168.00 NO
AVOIDING INTERSECTION  $140.00 NO
BLOCKING DRIVE/ALLEY  $70.00 NO
BUILDING INSPECTION ESTABLISHED (ENVIRONMENTAL)  $275.00 YES
BURNING GRASS, ETC. ON STREET  $78.00 NO
CEMETERY AFTER HOURS  $154.00 NO
COASTING A CAR OR A TRAILER OR BUS  $70.00 NO
CROSSING MEDIAN  $133.00 NO
DEFECTIVE BRAKES  $70.00 NO
DEFECTIVE BRAKES w ACC  $91.00 NO
DEFECTIVE SPEEDOMETER  $44.80 NO
DEFECTIVE TIRES  $45.00 NO
DEFECTIVE WINDSHIELD  $44.80 NO
DISCHARGING FIREARM  $253.00 NO
DISORDERLY CONDUCT  $248.00 NO
DISORDERLY CONDUCT w/WEAPON   YES
DISPLAY OF OTHER D L  $147.00 YES
DRAG-RACING  $225.00 YES
DRIVING ON CLOSED ROAD  $91.00 NO
DRIVING ON SIDEWALK  $210.00 NO
DRIVING OVER FIRE HOSE  $280.00 NO
DRIVING W/HEADPHONES  $140.00 NO
DRIVING WRONG SIDE OF ROAD  $91.00 NO
DRIVING WRONG SIDE OF ROAD W/ACC  $177.80 NO
DRIVING WRONG WAY ONE WAY  $86.80 NO
DRIVING WRONG WAY ONE WAY W/ACC  $112.00 NO
DUTY/STRIKING VEHICLE   YES
EXCESSIVE SMOKE  $44.80 NO
EXPIRED CDL LICENSE  $196.00 NO
EXPIRED TAG  $64.00 NO
FAIL OBEY OFFICER  $168.00 NO
FAIL TO CHANGE ADDRESS  $36.00 NO
FAIL TO DIM LIGHTS  $64.00 NO
FAIL TO OBEY TRUCK/BUS ROUTE  $84.00 NO
FAIL TO REPORT ACCIDENT  $239.00 YES
FAIL TO RESTRAIN CHILD (SEATBELT OR CHILD SEAT)  $50.00 NO
FAIL TO YIELD RIGHT OF WAY $70.00 NO
FAIL TO YIELD RIGHT OF WAY W/ACC  $86.80 NO
FAIL TO YIELD/LEFT  $98.00 NO
FAIL YIELD EMERGENCY. VEHICLE  $91.00 NO
FAIL YIELD/PEDESTRIAN  $140.00 NO
FAILURE TO MAINTAIN LANE  $105.00 NO
FAILURE TO MAINTAIN LANE W/ACC  $140.00 NO
FAILURE TO OBEY YIELD SIGN  $140.00 NO
FAILURE TO SIGNAL LANE CHANGE  $91.00 NO
FAILURE TO SIGNAL STOP AND OR SLOW  $91.00 NO
FAILURE TO YIELD TO PEDESTRIAN ON THE STREET  $91.00 NO
FAILURE TO YIELD TO PEDESTRIAN: TUNNEL  $91.00 NO
FALSIFYING INSURANCE   YES
FLAG ON PROJ. LOAD  $63.00 NO
FOLLOWING EMERGENCY VEHICLE.  $168.00 NO
FOLLOWING TOO CLOSE  $140.00 NO
FOLLOWING TOO CLOSE W/ACC  $168.80 NO
FUNERAL PROCESSION  $140.00 NO
GARBAGE – DEPOSITING OF  $140.00 NO
HORNS AND WARNING DEVICES  $70.00 NO
IMPEDING FLOW  $140.00 NO
IMPEDING TRAFFIC  $140.00 NO
IMPROPER BACKING  $140.00 NO
IMPROPER BACKING W/ACC  $168.80 NO
IMPROPER DISPLAY OF TAG  $64.00 NO
IMPROPER LANE CHANGE  $91.00 NO
IMPROPER LANE CHANGE W/ACC  $107.80 NO
IMPROPER PARKING  $64.00 NO
IMPROPER PASS ON A CURVE  $168.00 NO
IMPROPER PASS W/I INTERS  $140.00 NO
IMPROPER PASS/RIGHT  $156.80 NO
IMPROPER PASSING  $133.00 NO
IMPROPER PASSING W ACC  $156.80 NO
IMPROPER STOPPING  $84.00 NO
IMPROPER TAG  $64.00 NO
IMPROPER TURN  $91.00 NO
IMPROPER TURN W/ACC  $107.80 NO
IMPROPER USE OF DEALER TAG  $105.00 NO
IMPROPER U-TURN  $140.00 NO
IMPROPERLY EQUIPPED VEHICLE  $70.00 NO
IN PARK AFTER HOURS  $86.80 NO
INTENT/CONCEAL BY REMOVING OR HIDING TAG  $63.00 NO
INTER. WITH CONTROL  $462.00 NO
LAYING DRAG  $254.00 NO
LEFT OF CENTER OF ROADWAY  $91.00 NO
LIGHTS REQUIRED  $84.00 NO
LITTERING  $107.80 NO
MARIJUANA – MISDEMEANOR  $795.00 YES
LOITERING  $246.00 NO
MINOR RE: CURFEW VIOLATION   YES
MIRRORS REQUIRED  $70.00 NO
NO BRAKE LIGHTS  $84.00 NO
NO COVER ON LOAD  $86.80 NO
NO EYE PROTECTION OR FACE SHIELD  $35.00 NO
NO HEADLIGHTS ON  $85.00 NO
NO HELMET  $70.00 NO
NO INSURANCE  $504.00 YES
NO LICENSE, EXPIRED  $42.00 NO
NO DRIVER’S LICENSE  $700.00 YES
NO DRIVER’S LICENSE ON PERSON  $10.00 NO
NO PASSING ZONE  $196.00 NO
NO PROOF INS MOTORCYCLE  $504.00 NO
NO TAIL LIGHTS  $49.00 NO
NO TURN SIGNAL  $70.00 NO
OBSTRUCTING DRIVER’S VIEW  $70.00 NO
OBSTRUCTING SIDEWALK  $91.00  
OPEN CONTAINER  $254.00 NO
OPERATING W/O TAG  $63.00 NO
OVERTIME PARKING 2HR  $10.00 NO
PARKED FIRE HYDRANT  $188.00 NO
PARKED HANDICAP ZONE  $203.00 NO
PARKED IN A FIRE LANE  $86.80 NO
PARKED IN AN ALLEY  $70.00 NO
PARKED ON A RED CURB  $65.80 NO
PARKED ON A YELLOW CURB  $71.00 NO
PASS DOUBLE YELLOW LINE  $154.00 NO
PASS DOUBLE YELLOW LINE W/ACC  $177.80 NO
PASSING SCHOOL BUS  $253.40 NO
PEDESTRIAN U/I  $168.00 NO
POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA  $795.00 YES
POSSESSION ALCOHOL MINOR   YES
POSSESSION OF OR CARRYING PROHIBITED WEAPON   YES
POSSESSION, PROCUREMENT FRAUDULENT LICENSE   YES
PRESENT IN DIVE/GAMBLING  $250.00 NO
PUBLIC DRUNKENNESS  $167.00 NO
R/W @ INTERSECTION  $98.00 NO
RECKLESS DRIVING  $275.00 YES
REFUSAL TO COMPLY   YES
RESISTING AND INTERFERING OFFICER  $150.00 YES
RESTRICTED LICENSE   YES
RIDING IN BED OF P/U <18 YRS. OLD  $84.00 NO
RIGHT OF WAY IN CROSSWALKS  $140.00 NO
RUNNING RED LIGHT  $140.00 NO
RUNNING RED LIGHT W/ACC  $168.00 NO
RUNNING STOP SIGN  $140.00 NO
RUNNING STOP SIGN W/ACC  $168.00 NO
SEAT BELT  $15.00 NO
SMOKING IN NON-SMOKING AREA  $140.00 NO
STOPPING ON HIGHWAY  $140.00 NO
STRIKING FIXED OBJECT.   YES
SUSPENDED REGISTRATION  $140.00 YES
SUSPENDED LICENSE  $830.00 YES
TAG LIGHT  $50.00 NO
TINTED WINDOWS  $63.00 NO
UNSECURED LOAD  $87.00 NO
VIOLATION LEARNERS PERMIT   YES
VIOLATION LIMITED PERMIT   YES
WRONG CLASS LICENSE   YES

ALL ALCOHOL SALES OR PURCHASE VIOLATIONS MUST APPEAR IN COURT.

ANIMAL CONTROL (as of 9/1/2014)

DESCRIPTION   TOTAL MUST APPEAR
MPROPER TETHERING OR TRANSPORT 1ST IN 12 MONTHS $145.00 NO
2ND $425.00 NO
3RD $705.00 NO
4TH OR MORE IN 12 MONTHS $2,105.00 NO
ABANDONING ANIMAL 1ST $215.00 NO
2ND $425.00 NO
3RD $705.00 NO
4TH OR MORE $2,105.00 NO
CARE & CONTROL INCLUDES RUNNING LOOSE & FAILURE TO INOCULATE 1ST $75.00 NO
2ND $150.00 NO
3RD $225.00 YES
4TH OR MORE $300.00 YES
ANIMAL WELFARE
  1ST OFFENCE IN 12 MONTH 2ND 3RD  
ILLEGAL TETHERING $100.00 $300.00 $1,500.00  
ABANDONING ANIMAL $150.00 $300.00 $1,500.00  
CARE & CONTROL (RUNNING LOOSE) $75.00 $150.00 $225.00 $300.00

SPEEDING

  REGULAR FINES SCHOOL OR CONSTRUCTION ZONE
SPEEDING (Base 10-15 mph) $129.00 $193.80
SPEEDING (Base 16-20 mph) $168.00 $233.00
SPEEDING (Base 21-25 mph) $211.00 $275.00
SPEEDING (Base 26-30 mph) $324.00 $388.40
SPEEDING (Base 31-35 mph) $366.00 $430.40
SPEEDING (Base 36-40 mph) $405.00 $471.00

OVER 40 OR IF THE FINE CANNOT BE PAID AT ONE TIME, THE ACCUSED MUST APPEAR IN COURT.

FINES NOT SHOWN IN SCHEDULE MUST APPEAR IN COURT

Appendix 3, Part II: Payment of fines

You can pay fines, both those imposed in court and those printed on the schedule of fines, by cash, money order, certified check, and credit card (VISA, MasterCard, and Discover Card). If you pay by certified check or money order, make it payable to the Macon-Bibb Municipal Court. You can pay in person during the Court’s business hours. Do not send cash payment by mail.