At the Macon-Bibb County Commission meeting on Tuesday, March 5, District 2 Commissioner, Rabbi Larry Schlesinger delivered the invocation before the meeting. After the prayer, SMART student members Nykalas Fortney and Aaliyah Haslem led the Commission and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.More about the students:

Nykalas Fortney is the son of Jennifer Fortney and an AB student at Charles H. Bruce Elementary School. At school, he is in the REACH Program and an active member of the Beta Club, Quiz Bowl, and Mathematics Club. He is also an active and proficient member of the SMART Chess Club.

Aaliyah Haslem is 8 years old and an AB student at Charles H. Bruce Elementary School. She is the daughter of Rachel Haslem and Granddaughter of Sylvia Haslem. Miss Haslem is a member of Victory Deliverence Church where the Bishop Bell is the servant leader. She is a also a member of the Youth Choir of the church. Miss Haslem has the distinction of being the first in the history of Charles H. Bruce Elementary School to earn membership into the Accelerated Reader Millionaires Club. She earned over a million words by taking Accelerated Reader Tests. Miss Haslem enjoys reading and playing basketba


ll. She is also an outstanding member of the SMART Chess Club.

Mayor Reichert called all women forward to stand and be recognized as Commissioners approved a resolution designating March 2019 as Women’s History Month in Macon-Bibb County. He urged everyone to celebrate women and their vital roles in our lives. The board also recognized March 8th as International Women’s Day. Be sure to follow us on Instagram (@MaconBibbCounty) as we celebrate daily the women working within the Macon-Bibb County Government.

Agenda Items:






Commissioners approved a resolution to provide streetscape improvements along Pursley Street between Walnut Street and the Linwood Cemetery entrance, and to make other improvements, in exchange for easement as part of the Ocmulgee Heritage Trail Connector Project. Learn more about Historic Linwood Cemetery here. Click here to read this Commission Resolution.

The board requested issuing an RFP (Request for Proposals) to retain the services of a Georgia Licensed Real Estate Broker to assist in selling surplus real property.

The board accepted two grants from the Georgia Criminal Justice Coordinating Council. Click each one to learn more. The first- $2,850 for the Macon Judicial Circuit District Attorney’s Office.  And second- $3,870 for the Bibb County Solicitor General’s Office.







Commissioners approved an agreement with the Georgia Department of Transportation for preliminary engineering on Phase II of the Forest Hill Road project. This will cover Wimbish Road to Vineville Avenue. Voter-approved SPLOST funds will pay for this project. Learn more about it here.

The board approved an agreement with W.T. Designs for no more than $2,500 for a landscape plan for a new park to be created on property bordered by Telfair and Elm Streets, and the railroad.

Commissioners approved an agreement with Dell Financial Services, LLC for technical support services relating to backup data storage systems.

The board approved appropriating $476, 201 to the Macon Transit Authority. Read more about it here.

Commissioners approved a budget amendment to the Economic and Community Development Department’s CDBG budget, to program $22,00 in unused ESG & $20,000 in unused CDBG funds.

The board approved appointing Walt Miller to the Central Georgia Joint Development Authority.

The Commission approved the Macon Tennis Association to serve alcohol at a Saint Patrick’s Day Round Robin event on March 17 and the District League Championship on May 2 at the John Drew Smith Tennis Center.

The Board approved a plan to allow the Keep Macon-Bibb Beautiful Commission to place temporary signs in the rights-of-way to promote clean and beautiful public spaces as we approach the Cherry Blossom Festival.

Commissioners declared opposition to Georgia Senate Bill 172 related to the preemption of local government building design standards for one- and two-family dwellings. 

The board voted to appoint Dr. Christopher Grice, Lauren Albert, Stacy Maine, Shelby Teague, and Luis Munoz to the Animal Welfare Appeal Board. 

We stream our Commission meetings live on Facebook, MaconBibb.TV, and on Channel 14. They take place at 6 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month.