Notice is hereby given that a non-partisan special election will be held in Macon-Bibb County, Georgia on Tuesday, May 22, 2018 to elect a commissioner to fill the unexpired term of Commissioner Gary Bechtel for Macon-Bibb County Commission District 1.

Candidate qualifying for the non-partisan special election will be held by the Elections Superintendent at the Macon-Bibb County Board of Elections main office located at 2525 Pio Nono Avenue, Suite 1200, Macon, Georgia 31206, beginning at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, April 17, 2018, and ending at noon on Thursday, April 19, 2018. A qualifying fee of $450 must be paid as required by law.

All persons who are not registered to vote and who desire to vote in the non-partisan election may register to vote through the close of business on April 24, 2018. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. Information concerning requests for absentee ballot applications can be found at Georgia’s My Voter Page