At the Macon-Bibb County Commission Meeting on July 2, 2019, Reverend Dr. Ralph Hawkins, Pastor of Northminster Presbyterian Church, delivered the prayer. Two 4H students led everyone in the pledge. Thank you to Jasmine Martin and Zoe Economides for coming to the meeting to say the Pledge of Allegiance.

Agenda Items:

Commissioners approved an intergovernmental contract with the Macon-Bibb Urban Development Authority for parking decks, bonds, and payments in conjunction with Central City Commons, and to enter PILOT agreement with UDA, the Tax Commissioner and Tax Assessor offices, and Bibb County Schools.

The Board approved Nationwide to provide record keeping and administration services for the 457(b) deferred compensation and 401(a) plans.

Commissioners approved a Five Year Short Term Work Program and Capital Improvement Element to be submitted to the Middle Georgia Regional Commission for compliance review. 

The Board approved up to $140,000 of SPLOST (Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax) funding to purchase the Booker T. Washington Community Center.

Commissioners accepted a $10,000 grant from State Farm Insurance for the Sheriff’s Office Teen Driver Safety Summer Program.

The Board approved the Economic and Community Development Department’s CDBG, HOME, and ESG FY2020 budget.

Commissioners approved a contract with the Georgia Department of Transportation to obtain proper lighting for the SR 22/ Fulton Mill Road Roundabout Project.

The Board approved a lease for office space at 560 Oglethorpe Street to be used by the Department of Juvenile Justice.

Commissioners approved funding for a Fourth of July Fireworks Display to be held at Lake Tobesofkee. 

Commissioners approved the transfer of funds from the IT repairs account to the IT small equipment and improvements account.

The Board approved a transfer of funds from the Sheriff’s Office to the Salaries and Wages Benefits and Overtime account. 

Commissioners approved the transfer of funds within the Animal Welfare Department for the purposes of new equipment. 

The Board approved a slate of nominations for seats currently held on the Board of the Macon-Bibb County Hospital Authority.

Commissioners approved an amendment to an error regarding the nomination of members to the Friends of Rosa Parks Square Commission. They also approved James Beall, Jean Bragg, Nancy Cleveland, Dr. Carmelita Dillard, C. Jack Ellis, Louie Hargrove, Sara Hunt, Alex Morrison, George Muhammad, and Kunj Patel to the Friends of Rosa Parks Square Commission.

Commissioners approved installation of a street light on Lake Loch Drive

The Board approved funding of repairs for two hangers within the Middle Georgia Regional Airport.